Sometimes being a girl ain’t so fun……

Awhile ago I was called into my Doctor’s office after I had gotten my Pap test done, and was referred to another Doctor to get a more “thorough” test done, which is called a calposcopy. From what I have been told, this is pretty common, as, if there is any type of abnormalties in a womans Pap test, they want you to go have this procedure done.  So I go to the hospital, get it done, and then wait for the results. A few weeks later, the Doc, who performed the calposcopy, told me that the results came back as “serious”.  Meaning that I have a spot on my cervix, which if not treated, in ten years it will turn out to be cancer. So I have to go back to the hospital and have this other procedure, called LEEP, performed on February 20.  This is where they pretty much cut that piece of my cervix off.  Not fun!  But what can I do?  I don’t really have a choice.

Anyway, the reason why I am writing about this, is to remind women that they need to get their Pap test done every single year.  It is very important.  I was speaking to a women who I work with about this, and she was telling me that she hasn’t had a Pap test in like 5 years. That’s crazy!  I felt completely fine when I had gone to get my Pap done, there were no strange symptoms or anything.

And to some people out there in this world, YOU SHOULD REALLY TRY TO CUT THIS GIRL SOME SLACK, CAUSE SHE’S GOT A LOT OF SHIT ON HER PLATE RIGHT NOW.

One Response to “Sometimes being a girl ain’t so fun……”

  1. shiela ilagan Says:

    Hi! I’m Shiela from philippines….I also have a cervical problem right now and will undergo calposcopy on tuesday, 23 jan 07…I had a regular pap smear and the result was all okay. when i undergone cervical cancer test, it was the time my doctor discovered that i have an abnormal condition on my cervix.I was diagnosed with CN1 before and i was treated already last year. And last jan 4 2007 when i had my cervical cancer test again it is still positive….i really dont want to undergo calposcopy, i want to have it leep already to lighten the burden…..godbless….

Leave a Reply

