A Long Awaited Goodbye To Fido…..

This really has been a long time coming…

I have been dealing with Fido as my cellular company for quite sometime.  I don't particulary like them…infact I can quite honestly say that I despise them and the only reason that I have been dealing with Fido was due to a contract.  Well…yesterday…I came to point that I just had enough of their crappy customer service, their mysterious charges that show up on my monthly bills and their shitty ass network.  So I switched.  Plain and simple.  I went to Roger's after work yesterday and set up a plan through them. ( Roger's is another cellular company…who ironically owns Fido….but the two are totally seperate entities, and have totally different business practices.)  So now I just need to pay my final bill with Fido and then it is good riddence!!  I can't wait!!

Just a little side note ~ If you are in Canada and are considering dealing with Fido as your cellular company…I urge you to please reconsider!  Go to google, type Fido Sucks into the search box and hit enter.  There you will find all sorts of interesting information on how much Fido truely does suck and how they really treat their customers.   

13 Responses to “A Long Awaited Goodbye To Fido…..”

  1. True, but I’ve had a brutal experience with Telus (when I was living in BC — they were pure evil), and not so great, but not terrible experiences with Bell. Let me know how Rogers treats you, maybe I’ll have to venture into the realm of Rogers one of these days.

  2. Qwerty Maniac Says:

    Oh I thought it was about Fido Dido of 7-Up fame at first 😀

    Well here we have network busy problems all day, and absurd charges that suddenly appear off nowhere. The companies are just here for money, no services… not one decent at all, we have some 5 choices, all have huge cons, some charge high whereas others have network problems… am on prepaid…

  3. Patrick B Says:

    Fido is a little slice of evil. Here’s my story in case anyone’s interested:

    I’ve been a Fido customer for close to a year now and after prolonged and aggravated dealings with them I feel I should post a warning to all of you considering signing up for their service.

    The story begins in mid February when I noticed a strange transaction on my credit card (I pay Fido monthly by CC). This transaction was not my account number and didn’t look like the regular Fido transaction I usually see for my phone. So, I called Fido right away and after some difficulty in hunting down what this transaction was, I was told that it was a pre-authorized payment made on my credit card and presumably done by me.

    Well, this was definitely not the case so I asked them to investigate further and get back to me (maybe fraud, I thought, so no finger pointing at this time). They called me back promptly within 10 minutes (to their credit) and told me that this clearly was an erroneous transaction somewhere and that the amount would be credited back to my Fido account within 2 weeks. I would’ve prefered putting the money back on my CC but this was satisfactory.

    Two weeks came and went and I noticed no changes to my account. I specifically omitted the amount from this wierd transaction as I believed that it would be replaced (it was about $90, by the way). Then, a month had passed and Fido called me to ask what I was going to do about my remaining balance. I related the story to the rep once again and she assured me that, “no, it usually takes closer to two months for credit refunds” but since everything was in the works I should just pay my outstanding balance.

    I should mention at this point that Fido calls *every single month* to harass me to pay. I pay promptly and have asked them to stop calling…”thanks, I don’t need the reminder”, but they keep on like a collection agency, requiring firm dates when I will pay, and not failing to warm me *each and every time* that should I fail to pay my service may be disconnected. Did I insult somebody there? What gives?
    Anyhow, two months had now elapsed and I spoke to a third, then a fourth, and then a fifth rep, each of which told me my refund should have been “within 2 days of the error being reported”, “up to six months”, and “no, Fido doesn’t refund money, call your CC company”. On the odd chance that the reps had no idea what they were talking about (where did I get that idea?), I also spoke to their supervisors and got the same responses. If you’re looking for a fun rainy afternoon activity, try calling Fido service centers and ask them about their basic policies…speak to their supervisors; then hang up and call again to get a different person on the line. See how many different answers you can get!

    In the meantime I’d been in touch with my CC company who, of course, insisted that Fido was responsible and needed to reverse the charges. I finally ended up calling the Dispute Resolution department one day after a particularly dense answer from a Fido supervisor and decided to end it right there and then. I was assured the supervisor would be there while I conferred with my CC company.The CC rep said, “let’s just do a three-way call and get this matter sorted”. Sounded good to me. But, when we called Fido, the supervisor had gone out to lunch. I have not been able to get a hold of her since and *unfortunately* no one else in the service department could help me because they were unaware of the particulars of my case (maybe looking at the extensive note list on my account would have helped?)

    It’s now six months later and I’m still getting the runaround…people who bother giving me answers all still give me completely different stories and everyone else doesn’t even bother. As a sign of good faith, Fido has now instituted (I don’t know if it’s just against me or of this is new policy) a strict new payment schedule. Should you miss your payment by even a week, your service is disconnected, they charge you $25 (no-name, no-explanation fee) and then another $40 to reconnect you. How did I find this out? That $90 I was promised nearly 6 months ago (and didn’t pay for two months) is now being used against me as proof of my refusal to pay my bills on time!

    How’s that for adding insult to injury? At this point, Fido has essentially ripped me off by refusing to help me and are now treating me like scum. I guess I should’ve guessed that they were some sort of massochistic society by their monthly phone calls but I wouldn’t have guessed they would be *SO* bad.

    The topper today, which finally put me over the edge (takes a lot, don’t it?) was another harassing phone call for a $50 bill that I got last week and the French woman on the line (out of Quebec I guess) started yelling at me angrily because she couldn’t understand what I was saying through all the static. “Well”, I finally said, “it’s your f*cking phone and your f*cking cell network, lady!”

    I’m not even going to go into the outragous charges that they top on my account each month…I’ll just end it here with a big fat warning to all of you:

    *DO NOT*, FOR THE LOVE OF ALL THAT’S GOOD AND DECENT, SIGN UP WITH FIDO!!!
    Even if you believe you’ll never be mistreated and that you’re paying a fair price for what you’re getting, I urge you to boycott Fido if you have a sense of justice.

  4. @ Patrick B

    I fully and completely understand your situation. I myself have had nothing but problems with them, and that goes along with the harrassing phone calls and text messages every month the “remind” me to pay my bill. The only thing I can suggest to you would be to buy your contract out. It is $20 per month remaining, up to $200. But you know what, paying that money is totally worth it to be rid of them for good. I have switched over to Rogers, and while I am starting to realize that most cellular company’s are crooks…and by that I mean all the hidden fee’s….they are by far much better than Fido. Their customer service is so much better. Kinda funny…as Roger’s owns Fido….but supposively they are completely different entities. I wish you the best! Get out while you can!

  5. Wow! (Patrick and others) Sounds even worse than my experiences with Australian phone companies. I sympathise for anyone in a similar situation, but I think the trend of idiot phone companies is similar all over the world. Check out the post on my blog if you want to hear about similar pathetic stories.

    Also, not sure if it’s an option in Canada, but in Australia we have a “Telecomunications Industry Ombudsman” we can contact to help us deal with problems like this.

  6. Hello!
    I too have experienced much wailing and gnashing of teeth with Fod. Certainly none as bad as the aforementioned though.

    I’ve decided to dedicate my Thesis to improving Fido’s service. It’s getting personal now.

    It would really help me if you leave a comment or two on my blog about it. I want to go in there armed to the teeth.

    Thanks!

    http://phoneplanfeedback.blogspot.com

  7. @ tanya

    I would love to be able to leave a comment or five on your blog as I am a true non-fido supporter…but I do not have a blogger account, nor do I wish to acquire one. Sorry….i did try 😀

  8. angus frederick Says:

    I’ve had it! My Mommy called me long distance (pre-paid) and yakked for forty minutes. Of course I was willing to pay for my airtime. They dinged me for not only that but for HER long distance toll as well. (OVER FIFTY BUCKS). Isn’t that illegal? Now what is it going to cost ME to take those asswholes to court? Alot more than if I made the right move in the first place and chose someone else (anyone!).

  9. I signed up with Fido around January. In the start it was okay then they start charging me for one thing or another.

    According to the plan I have I am free to call after 7PM.

    Last month I was charged over $20 for one call. My call started around 6:45 and lasted over 40 minutes. This also mean that they took over 150 mintues — which made my bill over $80. I really truly hate them.

    On top of all this. I was given a defected phone.

    After 2011, I will switch to prepaid phone. But truth is all phone companies sucks.

  10. Boycott Fido!! Says:

    I had the same horrible experience with Fido, needless to say I am NEVER going back.
    You can find my story here:
    http://boycottfido.blogspot.com/

  11. i ALSO MADE A COMPLAINTS ABOUT OPERATORS NOT KNOWING NOTHING AT ALL SO MUCH THEY COULD NOT GIVE ME THE BASICS SETTINGS FOR THEIR CELL SERVER AND THIS NOT FOR JUST ONE CALL , I CALLED 5 TIMES AND ONE OF THEM ASKED ME ” WHAT IS AN IP ADDRESS.
    ANOTHER SAID WE DONT HAVE MMS SETTINGS . WE DONT HAVE PROXY PORT AND THEN SHE GAVE ME 4 DIGITS IT MAY BE THIS NOT SURE …. INCREDIBLE

    SO A SUPERVISER CALLS ME FIRST THING I ASK HIM ” WILL I BE CHARGED FOR THIS CALL” NO HE ASSURES ME AND SURE ENOUGH AFTER I HANG UP .. THE CALL WAS CHARGED

    SO I HAD TO MAKE A COMPLAINT AGAINST THE SUPERVISOR …

    FIDO ARE A BUNCH OF IDIOTS … THEY DONT KNOW WHAT THE OTHER HAND IS DOING THEY EVEN TOLD ME CELLPHONE#@FIDO.CA DOES NOT EXIST ANYMORE ….. YET IT WORKS AND ON THEIR SITE

    THEY ALL SEEM TO BE BRAIN DEAD !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  12. Fido’s Nine Lies

    After negotiating a retention plan over a few phone calls, I was advised by a Fido representative to go to a Fido corporate store to pick up two iphones on April 30, 2010.

    When I arrived at the Fido store, I was advised that they could not give me the iphones. I was very disappointed about being lied to, but I agreed to Fido mailing me two iphones in 3-5 business days after some compensation.

    I was even more disappointed when only one iphone arrived on the 5th business day, May 7, 2010. I called and spoke to a Fido rep on that day who told me that the second phone was never ordered. She told me that she would find out why and call me back quickly, she never did. The second Fido lie.

    I called back and spoke to another Fido rep who told me the same thing, the second iphone was never ordered. I asked to talk with a supervisor. He told me that he would give me fifty dollar phone credit and a hundred dollars in phone service for the error, and he would get a supervisor to call me. He then told me that he couldn’t get the compensation approved, third lie. He did get a supervisor, Kyle to call me.

    Kyle called me at about 4pm pacific time on May 7, 2010. He told me, no problem, the iphone was ordered at the same time and it would arrive on Monday, lie number four. I asked him why the other two Fido reps said it wasn’t ordered, and he said they were wrong, and he was going to talk to their supervisors as they wasted hours of my time, and got me stressed. I didn’t believe him! I asked him if I could go to a Fido store if it did not arrive on Monday, and he replied yes, lie number five. He asked me if I wanted a call back on Monday may 10, and I told him, no, as I wanted to believe him.

    I went to a Fido store on Monday may 10, and was told to call Fido. I called and spoke to darvinder, or something like that, who told me that he talked with his supervisor, and that they had made an exception, and I could go to the store and get an iphone, lie number six. He then checked my account, and said, no I couldn’t get a phone as it was a couples plan. I asked to speak with Kyle, told no!

    I asked to speak to another supervisor who told me that Kyle said I had to wait until Tuesday, and that he had told me that, lie seven. She said that she could do nothing, and had a “feeling” that it would arrive tomorrow. She also told me that the second phone was only ordered on May 7, after speaking with Kyle, and not on April 30 as Kyle stated. Is that lie eight?

    I called on Tuesday May 11 at 12pm when I did not get the phone. The Fido rep said she could not transfer me to a supervisor as the phones were not working, and that she would get a supervisor to call me back, lie 9. She never called me back.

    I called again at 3:30pm on May 11 and spoke to a Fido rep who told me that I could not talk with any supervisor as an investigation had been launched on May 10. He told me that I must wait another day or two.

    I finally managed to talk with chris at the presidents office on may 13 who assured me that the phones would arrive on the may, and said I could have the phones for free if I dropped my complaint.

    I foolishly agreed, but the phone never came on the may 14, and another fido rep told me the maximum delivery date is may 19. I called again on may 17, and another fido rep told me may 19 is the max delivery date. I believe chris knew they would arrive on may 19, and said may 14, and the free phones to get me to drop my complaint, knowing that the iphone would arrive before i get get my complaint rolling again.

    he is wrong as it is may 17, and I have reopened my complaint with the ombudsmon as I do not have a phone as agreed upon. Fido has not only failed to honor its agreement, it has also wasted hours of my time, and caused me an enormous amount of stress, and lost productivity. I was literally put on hold for what amounts to hours. This is so maddening, words cannot describe how much I now hate fido.

    Shame on Fido!!

  13. To everyone on here that is bashing fido, I have had the opposite experience. I have been with Fido since my first cell phone about 13 years ago. I will never change my provider. They have given me excellent service and never one problem, that I can recall. In fact they have been so good that my bf is also going to sign up with them also. He has been using Bell and we have gone through hell with their service. Bell has never helped us in any way. They people working at the kosts in the malls are not honest about the plans or the phones. The phones are crappy and the over the phone service also sucks. We are just waiting for his plan to run out in the next month then we will sign him up with Fido. Fido gives you fido dollars and my plan is down right cheap because I have been with them for so long. I could never get this with any other company. So say all you like how bad they are…. I disagree. I think they rule! Sorry.

Leave a Reply

