Thursday Thirteen #3

While performing “summer holiday relief” in our advertising department over the summer, I have had to do quite a bit of driving. This Thursday Thirteen is dedicated all of the annoying encounters I faced during my travels. As as usual…they are not in any particular order….

1. People who fail to use their turn signals and automatically assume that everyone else on the road knows exactly where they are going.

2. People who drive under the speed limit. (need I say more?)

3. Some driver’s of these enormous SUV’s, driving around, totally not paying attention to what they are doing. My bf and I were almost hit not too long ago by an man driving this huge SUV…talking away to the person in the passenger seat. Meanwhile he was swerving into our lane, making US have to avoid him hitting our vehicle.

4. Cyclists, whom I might add, want to have all these rights for commuting by bicycle and have all the rights that motorists do ( and thats totally fine!!!)…..but then they fail to obey the rules of the road.

5. Drivers who constantly ride their brakes. What the hell is wrong with you? Is it really necessary to jam on your brakes every few seconds or constantly ride them? Seriously, how much money do you spend a year on brake pads?

6. Cars that obviously are not road worthy….but are still being driven around. Blue smoke coming out of your tail pipe is not a good sign… and I really don’t appreciate having to inhale it into my lungs….and just for the record, duck tape is not an acceptable repair material.

7. Businesses that do not display their address in a visible location…especially ones that are located on a busy street. I am amazed at how many businesses that do not display their address on their store front.

8.Truck driver’s (semi’s) that think that just because they are bigger than everyone else they can do whatever the hell they want.

9. When trying to merge into a lane….and the ignorant drivers who can not seem to spare two seconds of their life to let you in.

10. People who drive around while chatting away on their cell phone…hmmmm, let’s see you are only navigating a few thousand pounds down the road…you might want to pay attention to what you are doing.

11. People who are obviously lost or clearly do not know where they are going…and insist on driving 10 k/m an hour instead of just pulling over to the side of the road so that the enormous line of cars that has formed behind them (of people who actually know where they are going) can get past.

12. The fact that it seems like even the most stupidest of people can acquire a drivers license.

13. The price of gasoline.

15 Responses to “Thursday Thirteen #3”

  1. Oh I can relate to many of these. Many are on my biggest pet peeve list.

  2. I’m always amazed that it takes more to get the “rights” to drive a car than to have a child. I HATE seeing folks driving around w/kids NOT in car seats/seat belts. Drives me bonkers.

    I’ve posted my Thursday Thirteen, too. Enjoy! 😉

  3. I used to drive ALOT. Made 12 trips (by myself) from NY to AZ and back. I hate all those people and more.

    TT is up – http://crazyfatchick.blogspot.com

  4. that is why i think i won’t ever be a driver…haha…=.( but i do want to own a bicycle so maybe i can just bike my way to work…hehe.

    my TT is up, drop by if u can =)

  5. I notice that when I drive, I get frustrated like how you’ve described it so well (and yay for having a list of 13 sucky things) but of course I seem to have missed the cue for TT, so I probably will try to catch up. Maybe in a week or so I will have found 13 things about TT I do not like? Or would that get me into hot water? I do not like hot water, if too hot.

    Also if I do not drive, I am stuck in one place too long, as
    the alternative methods are either unavailable or way too
    dangerous. To put it bluntly, I simply cannot be pleased,
    ultimately, in the long run, even if I take my truck, about
    all this massive transprotation trepidation!!! (can I?)

    🙂

    my TT is down, is da Bronx up?
    –g

  6. @ galen

    A TT list doesn’t have to be comprised of negative things or things you don’t like….it can be about anything you want it to be. 😀

  7. Great list. 🙂

    My newest hobby is looking in the rearview mirror while at long stop lights, to see what the person in the car behind me is doing. So far:
    talking on the phone (common); cleaning ear with Q-Tip (gross!); picking nose (grosser!); examining hair for split ends (why?); applying makeup (I used to do this, buy only while my husband was driving, not me); examining tongue, I’m not sure for what, but it was sticking WAY out there. Weird.

  8. I love to drive a lot before 5 kids and rising gas prices.

    Pet peeeve…those huge trucks…they think they own the road. They probably do, but it ticks me when they hug my lane too.

  9. Those are great reasons why I don’t like about some drivers,too.The gas prices were too much for us too! I used to drive everywhere, but today I paid $2.20. My favorite is the talking on the cell phone.
    Happy TT!

  10. Ooooo I hate driving! Especially since gas is so expensive! Drivers can be so rude!

  11. Hi, found your site while surfing for driving stories.

    A pet peeve of mine: people who go 30 mph when merging onto the expressway, causing you to hit your brakes or switch lanes.

  12. Boy do I ever agree with a number of those.
    Great list. Happy TT!!

  13. I must agree…no one drives nearly as well as I do! LOL! You know, I won’t even call someone’s cell phone if they’re not home…I would hate to find out that they caused or were in a wreck while on the phone with me. Is that paranoid?

    Thanks for visiting!

  14. Drive in NJ, you’ll always be annoyed!LOL
    Yeah, I started a wordpress blog, but I’m so used to my blogger thingee…trying to learn them both.

  15. people that don’t ESTABLISH THEMSELVES at a light. Gah!

Leave a Reply

