Must Be A Ring Thing…

Today a guy came into my work to place a classified ad in the paper.  When I first saw him, I knew that I had either gone to school with him, or hung out with him at some point… but I couldn’t remember his name.  So I put him in touch with someone who could help him place an ad.  I overheard him say his name to the classified rep… and finally realized where I knew him from. 

Back in the day… my sister decided to throw a party at my parents house when they were out of town.  I was around 15 at the time and was away camping with Rob, a guy that I was seeing back then.  He had given me his ring (a men’s gold ring with a rather nice ruby in it), which I wore on a chain around my neck.  While camping, I had left the chain and the ring in my parents washroom… on the counter.  When I came back the ring was gone.  I was pissed.  I did a little investigating and found out that this guy… Ritchie Miller had taken it.  I confronted him about a week after the ring had gone missing, and he finally told me that he had taken it, but that he had sold it days after the party.  The ring was gone, and I had felt bad because I had left it behind and it had been stolen.

So this was the guy…. the guy, who years ago had stolen my (well… Rob’s) ring.  And you know what he said to me when he came up to my desk to pay for his classified ad?  He asked me what kind of stone was in the ring that I was wearing on my finger.  I swear I wanted to jump over the counter and crack him over the head… but I was at work, so I politely informed him that it was an opal.  He obviously didn’t remember who I was, or maybe he just didn’t give a shit.  I really hope that karma caught up to him at some point.

Leave a Reply

