I Really Don’t Get It…

UPDATED: After receiving a comment on this post from Corinne De Patie… Grant De Patie’s mother…. I am now urging everyone who comes across this post (especially if you are a Canadian citizen) to write to the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada regarding the reduced sentence of her son’s murderer. This could have been your friend… your son.. your brother. You can do this by mail or email at the following addresses:

Honorable Robert Douglas Nicholson

Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada

284 Wellington Street

Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0H8

Or by email at webadmin@justice.gc.ca

I was up quite early this morning as I am most mornings and watching the local news. A news article came on about the youth involved in the death of Grant De Patie….. and how his sentence has now been reduced by 2 years due to the situation in which he grew up (I guess he didn’t have a great family life) and because of his aboriginal status.

I then heard some other story about some other guy… who was in jail for murdering someone else and how he would most likely be released after he had served 2/3’s of his sentence due to good behavior while incarcerated.

I really don’t understand this whole “good behavior” thing. Why is it that when someone is charged, convicted and sentenced for a crime that they have committed… are they then given the opportunity to be released far before the time that the judge or jury sentenced them to? It doesn’t seem right. A sentence is a sentence. I don’t think that when a judge or jury sentences someone to say 7 years in jail.. they actually really mean that they want him or her to only spend 5 years in jail. This person would not be in jail if it were not for their own actions… actions in which they committed a crime against someone… so why the hell should they be released on good behavior? They didn’t seem to give a shit about good behavior before they ended up in jail in the first place.

This also happened with my ex. The charges that were laid against him.. and the sentence that was brought down upon him was pretty much a joke. Time served. Why is it that a day in jail is worth 2 days in the “real world”? Is a day not a day? And why… if a person spends time in pre-trial facility….. is that time that they served worth more time than the time they would spend in jail after they were sentenced? Does anyone know why this is?

The government of Canada needs to seriously step back and take a long hard look at this so called court system we have got going on here in this country… because as it stands right now… it seems to favor the criminal and not the victims…. which is quite sad.

8 Responses to “I Really Don’t Get It…”

  1. Corinne Says:

    Hi, my name is Corinne De Patie. Yes, I am Grant’s mum. I am absolutely appalled at these three judges decision in the Appeals Court in regards to my sons murderer, Mr. Darnell Darcy Pratt. What are they thinking? I’m so …………pissed off. This has upset our family again, just when we thought just maybe, we can start to form a new normal, and this rips the scab right off us. My husband is livid. He is so embarrassed about this judicial system, he felt like taking the Canadian flag off our house, and going to the court house and setting it on fire. Of course we talked that through. We’re just not like that. The effect the death of our son has on us and especially his younger siblings is enormous. I can’t even finish what I want to say, cause I’m starting to cry just at the thought of how broken hearted these three kids are without their big brother Grant.

    If you want to do us a favour,
    Write the Federal Justice Minister a strong letter.

    This system is F******

    I will say one thing, thank God my marriage is Built Ford Tough

    Thank you
    Corinne De Patie
    Grant’s Mum

  2. @ Corinne

    First and foremost… I want to say sorry for what happened to your son and to your family… I can’t possibly even begin to comprehend what you and your family must be going through.

    This system is most definitely fucked. That has been proved so many times. It is time that something is done about it. I will write to the Federal Justice Minister… and hopefully others will too.

    I thank you for taking the time to visit this blog.

    Tara

  3. Corinne Says:

    Very precious, thank you so much for your comment. I had forgotten where you were so I googled Grant De Patie with quotation marks and your website is one of over 700 others. Thank you so much for your condolences, thank you for your comments. This has just torn us apart inside. We are outraged. I see we can get away with a crime if we are not white. How fair is that? It gives minorities the idea that if they commit a crime, get sentenced, they can merely appeal and get a frickin’ reduction. I am so P***** off. Tell your friends, and ask them to tell their friends to write or email Wally Oppal AND the Minister of Justice of Canada. WE need to be heard. We are hurting so badly. It was our son, not the judges son that was taken on such a gruesome death. Does anyone know exactly what my sons precious body went through under that car? I have the autopsy report. It’s emotionally destroying to us, to have it in print.
    I need help getting it through to the government that this appeal needs to be appealed.

    Thank you for listening and reading my comment to you.

    I love you Grant De Patie, and I miss you so much honey.

    You have my email address, I give you permission to send me an email, but keep my email address private. Even with only our phone number listed in the phone book, we get some interesting people calling our home.

    Most kindest regards,
    Corinne, hurting inside, De Patie
    Grant’s Mum

  4. Corinne Says:

    PS, I read thoroughly through the top of your comment, and I want to send you a great big hug, for adding the address of where and whom to write to.

    Bless your heart.

    Thanks Dear.

    Most sincerely,

    Corinne De Patie
    Grant’s Mum

  5. @ Corinne

    Your Welcome. It is the very least I can do.

  6. Corrine, I only got to know you a little bit, delivering mail to where you worked. But I want to say you are such an inspiration to me, I loved you before I knew you were Grant’s mom, and was so in awe of you after we talked and you told me your story. I am so happy that the law is finally in place, and any time I hear anyone grumble, I say, ” hey I know his mom, and if you could see her pain, you would be happy to pay before you pump”
    Congratulations on your husband’s and your hard work coming to a positive conclusion, and you still inspire me, especially on days that seem tough. Hang in there, and congratulations again!! (I miss your sense of humor and seeing you every day!!! )
    Mary

  7. As this posting is old I still feel I need to vent. Working at a very busy gas station for 3 years now I can say gas and dashes happened very often. We are a busy highway location and we would gets runs from US people as well as Alberta and BC vehicles. The problem is even if we did get the licence plate the police would not do anything about it as they have “better” things to do. They are a few police officers that wanted to help but others would rather be out shooting the bad guys.
    So now the law is in effect…..what makes people think that they can come into gas stations and harrass us, the attendents, about the law. We have had things thrown at us, we have been verbally harrassed, called many names, degraded….oh I could go on. What is the point of this? We are minimum wage workers trying to do a job……it’s a law people….we can’t control it just abide by it. We are there to do our job and try to make it as quick and painless as possible. If we had it our way, we wouldn’t do prepay. We love not having every other guest be an ass. I use to love my job, but now since this law, all you cock suckers out there that think you are cool by coming and harrassing us, get a life and goto the people that created the law. Not the attendents following rules.
    I understand why Grants law is in effect and it is a sad thing that did happen to him. It should never happen to anyone and the little punk that did it should be in jail for life. What he did was worse then murder. But at the same time this law, that grants family asked for, has made working at gas stations almost unbearable.

  8. It’s even older now, but I also wanted to comment on this. It’s weird, as i read this blog because i often think about Grant De Patie, though i never knew him. When I read about his death in the paper, it struck a nerve and stayed with me. Not just the awful way he died, but the way people reacted to it. The law’s knee-jerk reaction to crime, and aborigional crime especially, these days seems to be to mitigate criminal responsibility. It’s all about the offender and his rights. It’s like lawyers, social workers, and politicians are falliing all over themselves to protect the rights of the people who commit violent crimes. And that’s what they did here. Newspapers didn’t talk about what happened to Grant, they talked about what it was about this kid’s childhood that made him do this awful thing. Oh he had a bad life let’s give him another chance, even though he shows no remorse for his actions. A life for $12 worth of gas. That’s what it was i think, that struck me the most. $12. At the time this happened, i had 2 sons (and just 6 months ago a baby girl). Sometimes i would look at my boys and just think, these kids mean everything to me. They are worth so much more than any amount of money, and this man, who was someone’s son, was just snuffed out for $12. It boggles my mind still, that somewhere there was a woman who felt that same way about this guy who was her baby, and she had him ripped from her life in such a violent way. I remember once after reading an update about it in the paper one day, just getting sort of choked up imagining how i would feel if it was my son under that car, and being so pissed that there were people that can’t seem to empathize and try to imagine what Grant must have been feeling and thinking as he was dying. I just can’t even fathom what his parents must go through every day knowing what happened to the child they raised and loved and protected, whose cuts they bandaged and whose boo boos they kissed and made all better as he was growing up, just for some thoughtless animal to come along and end his life that way. What happened to Grant was as wrong as it gets, but some how our justice system managed to make it worse, victimizing Grant and his family all over again. We should all be angry about this, because in one way or another, this horrible event, and others like it, affects us all by reinforcing the idea that in this country, for some people, the law simply doesn’t apply.

Leave a Reply

